top of page
Recent Posts
Featured Posts

My inner Child

A few months ago,i graduated,wore that ever covetted academic dress and stood among thousands of young and restless people and we threw our hats off into the air(am a stickler for the drama,i know this only happens in movies:-)).I had hope,i had dreams...;-)

(Ankara maxi skirt n tube top)

(Skirt has pleats and i feel like an african princess in it)

A few interviews later and i was absorbed into corporate.I cant complain that i tarmacked,i did have to work for free for afew months..but i didnt have the horror story.Not really.

I was on the right track,i would go in there with my brilliance and shock everyone out of their stupor.My energy and witt would put me on a fast-track to amazing opportunities.

(The twirl)

Sure,i would have to start small but i would have the passion and zeal to get to the top.I would be in awe of the corporate world and it would accept me.Haha!

But it swallowed me whole!Three months in and i had learnt my entire job role and i was like what else.(My job is especially repetitive and can be quite annoying.)I was pushing work loads every single day and if you are in my kind of work area you know that everyday can be the same

(one arm ankara dress)

.I can tell you what i'll be doing tommorrow at 3.00.(its that bad.lol).And i thought this cannot possibly be it.I was having(and possibly still having) a quarter life crisis.I was miserable.

So i listened to my inner child,i was fighting her for so long.No you cant be a fashion designer!Your supposed to be a doctor,a lawyer,an Insurance expert,a mathematician an Actuary. or maybe a business analyst.Not a fashion designer.No way.Haha!

I listened to her and now i am alittle free.Happy,atleast.I had always been lost and because i was always so good at everything (insert sarcastic smack lol) i didnt know.But now i know,and that is step one.;-0.I decided its okay that my job that i spend 3/4 of my life at doesnt make me happy.Its okay because it led me to do what does.So for now its 9-6 of ummm...and 8-2am of mind-blowing,challenging and fun.And its okay for now...God speed,right?

Thankyou for reading.

Always,

June.


bottom of page